Sunday, May 20, 2007

Quick 12 Movie Round-Up

The Terminator (1984) - (6.9/10) - I still like T2 better.


Deja Vu (2006) - (6.8/10) - I am a sucker for any thing that has to do with the possibilities of time alteration...Makes you actually use your head!


Pucked (2006) - (3/10) - I should have known how bad this movie would be once I saw Bon Jovi on screen. Really avoid.

Dead and Deader (2006) - (4/10) - A cheaply made and poorly written zombie-military movie. Avoid.


Night at the Museum (2006) - (5/10) - I can understand how this movie is considered to be really "bad"...Some movies just have that negative feel to them from the first time you see the trailer to the last time you take the dvd out..(Godzilla...Pearl Harbor..etc). It's a decent single viewing good concept but poorly executed popcorn flick.


Bridge to Terabithia (2006) - (6.8/10)
Watch Trailer:


The Holiday - DNF - I couldn't get past the first 20 minutes. Even I have my limits.

Van Wilder 2 The Rise of Taj (2006) - (4/10)


Pervert!
(2005) - DNF - Thought it was a comedy..I was wrong. Bunch of seriously unfunny sexual innuendo and nudity. Turned it off after 15 minutes.

Stranger Than Fiction (2006) - (7.1/10) - I am not a fan of Will Ferrell. I don't think he is funny. I also don't like Jim Carrey...But Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind was one of my favorite movies of 2004. The same holds true for Stranger Than Fiction. It has a fantastic story with some pretty clever writing with a comedic star who is not trying to be funny. I really enjoyed this one...
Watch Trailer:


Running Scared (2006) - (5/10) - Paul Walker must love action flicks. It seems like every movie he does is an all-out action movie! This one is super slick and sometimes overly stylized...And good for a single viewing only if you're into that kinda stuff. Oh, and really cool end credits - best I've seen in a while.


The Prestige (2006) - (6.19/10) - Two good actors - Christian Bale (Batman Begins) & Hugh Jackman (Wolverine) + Talented writer/director - Christopher Nolan (Memento, Batman Begins) = A Solid movie about 2 magicians trying to one up each other that is really entertaining to watch and requires you to actually pay attention all the way through.

Saturday, May 19, 2007

Helio Ocean



Some pretty cool features....Gonna return it though...Prefer my N80ie..

The Important Stuff

Dew. Videogames. Chapstick.

Wednesday, May 16, 2007

Fanboys, Bugatti, and Castlevania Videos

3 Videos Today..

A movie that has Star Wars fans on a road trip adventure...The part when they confront the Star Trek fans is awesome. Check it out here.

Bugatti Veyron (Fastest Production Car in the World. Ever.) vs R1 Bike:

Bugatti VS Yamaha R1 - The funniest home videos are here

Castlevania Music performed live by on a THREE-STORY PIPE ORGAN. BRILLIANT.

Tuesday, May 15, 2007

Playoffs Over....Kinda

Warriors were eliminated by the Jazz tonight.
The Eastern conference is as boring as usual.
The Suns play the Spurs tomorrow without Amare Stoudemire so they will probably end up losing that series in the long run...Which means that it will most likely be Spurs and Jazz in the Western Conference Finals...Talk about boring! At least I'll have time to study now! Especially since all TV shows are airing their finales this week and next.

If anything..I thank for Warriors for making this year's playoffs very fun and exciting to watch. Forget it, I will not.



Sunday, May 13, 2007

Frozen Tidal Wave, Knocked Up, and Pirates..

I'm always amazed when I look at these Frozen Tidal Wave pics. I really hope to see something like that in person at some point in my life. Preferably when I'm still young!

Knocked Up


Anyone else excited about Knocked Up? I was a big fan of 40 YO Virgin, Undeclared, and Freaks and Geeks...And since it's made by the same dude that made those AND stars Katherine Heigl...How can it go wrong? Hilarious, it will be.

And of course in two weeks...


And they are having a bunch of 8pm showings on the 24th but I have freakin' lab in the afternoon and won't even bother trying to make it since I KNOW there will be lines. If anyone is up for the midnight showing let me know!

Monday, May 7, 2007

End of Scrubs? Lost? Grey's..And More NBA!

It looks like one of my favorite shows may be coming to an end. It seems as if no one knows whether or not Scrubs will be returning next year and NBC is calling the next episodes "the last 2" in the promos and recent episodes have been hinting at an approaching end. From what I understand the official decision will be made by May 17th...Either way it was awesome show and I'm sure my dvd sets will give me many more hours of entertainment in the future!

Lost will also be ending...But not any time soon. ABC announced today that the show will come to an end in the 2009-2010 season. This is a highly unorthodox announcement for a TV show...But given the Lost storyline and the importance of how the series ends...I guess it makes sense. I can't even imagine what the writers have in mind to finish and EXPLAIN the series!

Anyone catch the Grey's Anatomy last week? The blatant and out of place Addison spin-off test was horrible! Did anyone actually enjoy it?? I feel sorry for you guys who had to watch it live and didn't get to fast forward through all the crap. I'm pretty sure the response wasn't that great and hopefully the spin-off idea will be scrapped.

The NBA playoffs continued tonight and the east bored us yet again while the uptempo play of the Warriors and Jazz entertained in the wild west. Practically every possession was a good one and Reggie Miller put it best when he said "Which team will blink first?!" Can't wait till game 2!

Sunday, May 6, 2007

Anyone Else with Photic sneeze reflex?

I used to think everyone had this reaction to the sun...But I guess not. Anyone else out there have this?

From Wikipedia:

Photic sneeze reflex (also referred to as sun sneezing, photogenic sneezing, or whimsically called ACHOO syndrome, an acronym for Autosomal dominant Compelling Helio-Ophthalmic Outburst syndrome) is a medical condition by which people exposed to bright light sneeze. The photic sneeze reflex can also cause one to sneeze many times consecutively. The condition occurs in 17% to 25% of humans, with more common occurrence in Caucasians than others[citation needed]. The condition is passed along genetically as an autosomal dominant trait.

The first mention of the phenomenon is probably in the later work attributed to Aristotle (Problems, book XXXIII).

The probable cause is a congenital malfunction in nerve signals in the trigeminal nerve nucleus. The fifth cranial nerve, called the trigeminal nerve, is apparently responsible for sneezes. Research suggests that some people have an association between this nerve and the nerve that transmits visual impulses to the brain. Overstimulation of the optic nerve triggers the trigeminal nerve, and this causes the photic sneeze reflex. Another theory suggests that tears leaking into the nose through the nasolacrimal duct are a cause of the photic sneeze reflex. The speed of the reflex seems to favour the first theory, as it happens much too quickly for tears to be generated and drain into the nose. In addition this sneeze reflex can be brought on by a sudden inhaling of cold air or a strong flavour such as a strong mint gum. This implies an overstimulation of any nerve close to the trigeminal nerve can cause the sneeze reflex.

Saturday, May 5, 2007

Spider-Man 3 and More

A few pure entertainment flicks and a couple of painful movies this week...


All Babes Want to Kill Me (2005) - (1.5/10) - Avoid!


The Death And Life of Bobby Z (2007) - (5/10) - Paul Walker in yet another action flick...Car chases, rich drug dealers, love interest, explosions, fights, eh...you get the idea. Don't expect anything new.
Trailer:


Spider-Man 3 (2007) - (6.6/10) - Started slow. Liked it better than the second one. The acting during the "emotional" scenes were really bad...Even laughable at times. Especially the scene on the bridge...At first I even thought it was a joke. Also some of the acting and lines by the extras were just really lame...Wasn't sure if it was meant to be funny?? Same goes for most of the dialogue...And people give Lucas a hard time for the dialogue in episode II?! Venom is one of my all-time favorite comic book characters and I was satisfied with the way they handled his character...Sandman was pretty cool too - great CG! The action/fight scenes rocked as expected and the funny parts easily delivered. My favorite scene overall by far was the one with Bruce Campbell in the French restaurant - FREAKIN' HILARIOUS! Now that I think about it...Everything after that scene was really pretty entertaining...Especially when Peter heads to the Dark Side.;-)


The Fast and The Furious; Tokyo Drift
(2006) - (6.8/10) - (A Re-watch in HD) - Pure exciting slick semi-mindless entertainment. I don't seen how anyone can NOT be entertained by this? Great soundtrack too.


Streets of Legend (2003) - (1.7/10)


Just My Luck (2006) - (5/10) - Generic not-too-terrible romantic comedy starring Lohan..So uhh..yeah.

40 Facts About Sleep

-The record for the longest period without sleep is 18 days, 21 hours, 40 minutes during a rocking chair marathon. The record holder reported hallucinations, paranoia, blurred vision, slurred speech and memory and concentration lapses.

- It's impossible to tell if someone is really awake without close medical supervision. People can take cat naps with their eyes open without even being aware of it.

- Anything less than five minutes to fall asleep at night means you're sleep deprived. The ideal is between 10 and 15 minutes, meaning you're still tired enough to sleep deeply, but not so exhausted you feel sleepy by day.

- A new baby typically results in 400-750 hours lost sleep for parents in the first year

- One of the best predictors of insomnia later in life is the development of bad habits from having sleep disturbed by young children.

- The continuous brain recordings that led to the discovery of REM (rapid eye-movement) sleep were not done until 1953, partly because the scientists involved were concerned about wasting paper.

- REM sleep occurs in bursts totalling about 2 hours a night, usually beginning about 90 minutes after falling asleep.

- Dreams, once thought to occur only during REM sleep, also occur (but to a lesser extent) in non-REM sleep phases. It's possible there may not be a single moment of our sleep when we are actually dreamless.

- REM dreams are characterised by bizarre plots, but non-REM dreams are repetitive and thought-like, with little imagery - obsessively returning to a suspicion you left your mobile phone somewhere, for example.

- Certain types of eye movements during REM sleep correspond to specific movements in dreams, suggesting at least part of the dreaming process is analagous to watching a film

- No-one knows for sure if other species dream but some do have sleep cycles similar to humans.

- Elephants sleep standing up during non-REM sleep, but lie down for REM sleep.

- Some scientists believe we dream to fix experiences in long-term memory, that is, we dream about things worth remembering. Others reckon we dream about things worth forgetting - to eliminate overlapping memories that would otherwise clog up our brains.

- Dreams may not serve any purpose at all but be merely a meaningless byproduct of two evolutionary adaptations - sleep and consciousness.

- REM sleep may help developing brains mature. Premature babies have 75 per cent REM sleep, 10 per cent more than full-term bubs. Similarly, a newborn kitten puppy rat or hampster experiences only REM sleep, while a newborn guinea pig (which is much more developed at birth) has almost no REM sleep at all.

- Scientists have not been able to explain a 1998 study showing a bright light shone on the backs of human knees can reset the brain's sleep-wake clock.

- British Ministry of Defence researchers have been able to reset soldiers' body clocks so they can go without sleep for up to 36 hrs. Tiny optical fibres embedded in special spectacles project a ring of bright white light (with a spectrum identical to a sunrise) around the edge of soldiers' retinas, fooling them into thinking they have just woken up. The system was first used on US pilots during the bombing of Kosovo.

- Seventeen hours of sustained wakefulness leads to a decrease in performance equivalent to a blood alcohol-level of 0.05%.

- The 1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill off Alaska, the Challenger space shuttle disaster and the Chernobyl nuclear accident have all been attributed to human errors in which sleep-deprivation played a role.

- The NRMA estimates fatigue is involved in one in 6 fatal road accidents.

- Exposure to noise at night can suppress immune function even if the sleeper doesn’t wake. Unfamiliar noise, and noise during the first and last two hours of sleep, has the greatest disruptive effect on the sleep cycle.

- The "natural alarm clock" which enables some people to wake up more or less when they want to is caused by a burst of the stress hormone adrenocorticotropin. Researchers say this reflects an unconscious anticipation of the stress of waking up.

- Some sleeping tablets, such as barbiturates suppress REM sleep, which can be harmful over a long period.

- In insomnia following bereavement, sleeping pills can disrupt grieving.

- Tiny luminous rays from a digital alarm clock can be enough to disrupt the sleep cycle even if you do not fully wake. The light turns off a "neural switch" in the brain, causing levels of a key sleep chemical to decline within minutes.

- To drop off we must cool off; body temperature and the brain's sleep-wake cycle are closely linked. That's why hot summer nights can cause a restless sleep. The blood flow mechanism that transfers core body heat to the skin works best between 18 and 30 degrees. But later in life, the comfort zone shrinks to between 23 and 25 degrees - one reason why older people have more sleep disorders.

- A night on the grog will help you get to sleep but it will be a light slumber and you won't dream much.

- After five nights of partial sleep deprivation, three drinks will have the same effect on your body as six would when you've slept enough.

- Humans sleep on average around three hours less than other primates like chimps, rhesus monkeys, squirrel monkeys and baboons, all of whom sleep for 10 hours.

- Ducks at risk of attack by predators are able to balance the need for sleep and survival, keeping one half of the brain awake while the other slips into sleep mode.

- Ten per cent of snorers have sleep apnoea, a disorder which causes sufferers to stop breathing up to 300 times a night and significantly increases the risk of suffering a heart attack or stroke.

- Snoring occurs only in non-REM sleep

- Teenagers need as much sleep as small children (about 10 hrs) while those over 65 need the least of all (about six hours). For the average adult aged 25-55, eight hours is considered optimal

- Some studies suggest women need up to an hour's extra sleep a night compared to men, and not getting it may be one reason women are much more susceptible to depression than men.

- Feeling tired can feel normal after a short time. Those deliberately deprived of sleep for research initially noticed greatly the effects on their alertness, mood and physical performance, but the awareness dropped off after the first few days.

- Diaries from the pre-electric-light-globe Victorian era show adults slept nine to 10 hours a night with periods of rest changing with the seasons in line with sunrise and sunsets.

- Most of what we know about sleep we've learned in the past 25 years.

- As a group, 18 to 24 year-olds deprived of sleep suffer more from impaired performance than older adults.

- Experts say one of the most alluring sleep distractions is the 24-hour accessibility of the internet.

- The extra-hour of sleep received when clocks are put back at the start of daylight in Canada has been found to coincide with a fall in the number of road accidents.

From the National Sleep Research Project

Friday, May 4, 2007

Basketball Magic

This year's NBA playoffs is freakin' brilliant. The Golden State Warriors story is simply NBA magic and if they continue to play with the intensity that they used against the Mavs then they really have a chance of winning the championship! And that 's saying a lot considering they made it into the playoffs on the LAST day of the season.

Watching them play..especially with their fans at home...has been the most exciting bball I have seen in LONG time. Reminds me of the up tempo playoffs when the Kings (with Webber and Jason WIlliams), Mavs, Lakers (and I'll get to them later), and Spurs were going at it in the Western Conference a few years back. It's just unbelievable.

Now the Lakers...I just want to know where all the bandwagon,Laker flag on SUV wavin', lakers jersey wearin' laker fans are at when their team is losing? All I have to say to you is haha. Of course no one expected them to win with their hack overrated coach jackson and talentless team - except for Kobe - I can't imagine the way he feels playing with a heartless passionless team.

Maybe the reason I am enjoying the playoffs this year is because I am not emotionally involved with pulling for a single team...I just love watching all the upbeat basketball. Usually I have a favorite team and they ALWAYS lose..So this time I'm keeping my mouth shut and attachment low. That being said...I hope the Warriors don't lose.